Hel: A Norse gods poem

Writing Sigyn seems to be taking its toll- my head is stuffed with Norse gods and legends and monsters.  I wrote this poem for a competition called Furies, run by the website For Books’ Sake. Earlier this week I found out that I wasn’t selected for the anthology, so I thought I’d post it here instead.

 

Hel

I am my father’s daughter, but the fire

that smouldered in his veins turned mine to ash

I felt no spark or glimmer of desire,

hate, love, or hope, until the clash

of swords and smash of skull on stone transformed

my state from monster-child to corpse. Below,

in Niflheim, I am no more deformed

than blossomed trees in spring, or shards of snow.

Here, I am Queen – my throne far more secure

than his who cast me down, my armies vast

and swelling by the day. They were so sure

they’d won, but gods, my laugh will be the last.

For I am death and glory, foe and friend

And all will kneel before me in the end.

 

Alice’s novel Spider Circus doesn’t contain any Norse gods, but is available from Amazon and Smashwords.  Ally’s ramblings about stories, food and feminism can be found on Twitter and Facebook.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

