Kickstarting Jump!

My mum often rolls her eyes at me for spending so much time on Twitter, and most of the time, I can see her point. As anyone who follows me knows, I spend a lot of time ranting, and a lot of time musing about food or asking silly questions. I freely admit that about 90% of my time on Twitter is procrastination, time that I really should have spent writing.

Then there’s the other 10%.

If I wasn’t on Twitter, I never would have got chatting to many completely amazing people, people who have genuinely changed my life. I follow a lot of activists and human rights workers, who have challenged my complacency and encouraged me to think about things in different ways. I follow writers, who have given me an insight into the ways that different people work, and reassured me that, yes, everyone hits that wall sometimes. And thanks to the ever-decreasing degrees of separation that are happening through social networking, these connections sometimes end up turning into something special.

I was linked to Lynn Schreiber of Jump! Magazine through a friend at my university, who knew that I worked on young adult literature and that Lynn was putting together an online magazine aimed at children and young adults. A few emails later, Lynn asked Em and me if we would be interested in making some comics for Jump!

Image

I’ve been desperately trying not to pun, but honestly, we did jump at the chance. Jump! was everything I’d wanted to read as a child – a magazine with articles about everything from archaeology to journalism to tips on how to negotiate school and friends and growing up, with a generous dollop of stories and games on the side. It’s a magazine dedicated to treating children as equally capable, equally interested and equally interesting as adults, and never, ever talking down to them. It’s something I’m very proud to be involved with.

Today, Jump! Magazine launched a Kickstarter, which will go towards developing the magazine even further. Please do check out the Kickstarter, have a look at the website, and, if you like what you see, chip in and share the links far and wide.

Image

 

Alice’s novel and short stories are available on Amazon and Smashwords. Contact her via Twitter or Facebook

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

