Call for beta readers #2: Sigyn

As some of you may know (at least, those of you who’ve had the patience to sift through my tweets about food and silly questions), I’ve been writing a story about the Norse gods. I’m very close to finishing the first draft of this story, and so I thought I’d put out this call.

An important character in this story is my favourite mythological figure, Loki. My version of Loki draws heavily from the original myths, especially the Prose and Poetic Eddas – and in these stories, Loki’s gender is by no means a fixed point. The more I thought about it, the more the concept of a gender-fluid Loki made sense. And so, that’s the story I ended up writing.

A little while ago, I put out a call for beta readers for my first novel, Spider Circus, with a particular request for any POC beta readers who’d be willing to point out the mistakes that I was bound to make, even having done my homework. As a binary cis woman writing a gender-fluid character who IDs most frequently, but certainly not always, as a man, I would really value having a similar kind of input from non-binary and gender-fluid beta readers.

I have no doubt that I’ve made some horrible assumptions or mistakes – no amount of reading around gender fluidity and non-binary identities can make up for a lack of lived experience. Because of this, I do warn any prospective readers in advance that my story as it is at the moment may well contain some hurtful stuff. This is why I want to check it and change it and get rid of as much of the ciscentricism and binarism as possible before I send it out there. I’m particularly nervous about the scenes where Loki is dealing with other people’s transphobia – including that of the POV character, Sigyn, after whom the book is named.

If any gender-fluid or non-binary readers are willing to beta-read my novel, please contact me (details here). I’m also interested in hearing from other prospective readers, so do get in touch!

 

Alice’s novel Spider Circus is available at Amazon and Smashwords. Writing updates can be found at Facebook – or, if you’re just here for the tweets about food, try Twitter.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

