Promotion! The Musical

The toughest thing about being an indie author is…well, to be honest, it’s knowing when the book is actually finished, without an editor to tell you “Stop. Stop. This is done. No, really, it is. STOP CHANGING THINGS! PUT THE PEN DOWN!

The second-hardest thing is the promotion.

Working out how to make your story stand out amongst the millions of self-published ebooks is a full-time job in itself. Persuading readers that actually, your YA fantasy about kids with superpowers travelling to other worlds is really good and completely different to those other YA fantasy books about kids with superpowers travelling to other worlds is tough, particularly since we writers are not characteristically the most pushy and outgoing people.

I was going to write a blog post on how I learned to do self-promotion, but then I realised, I haven’t learned a damn thing. I’m still completely lost as to how to get people to read the things I’ve written, and I always feel really awkward for even asking. So, taking my cues from Disney, I decided to explore that instead. In song.

 

Will you follow me on Twitter?
I’ve got such a lot to say
I’ll keep you posted on the things I write
All day and night
We’ll tweet the hours away
I’ll talk about my breakfast
My writer’s block
Whatever thoughts cross my mind
Will you follow me on Twitter?
(Here’s the handle for my Twitter)

Everyone: NO!

Ally: Okay, fine…

Will you read my blog on WordPress?
I wrote all about my book
About the themes and what inspired me
And – well, you’ll see
Just take a look!
I’ve only had three click-throughs
And two were me
Just go and give it a try
Will you read my blog on WordPress?

Hey, my ebook is for sale now
I’m so proud of what I’ve done
I wrote a story down from start to end
I’d recommend
You all buy one
I kind of need the money
I need the sales
If I want to write full-time…
(plaintively) Will you follow me on Twitter?

 

Alice’s stories are available at Amazon and Smashwords. She also writes a webcomic, Footloose. Further ramblings can be found on Twitter and Facebook.

Go and look, or she might sing again.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

