The Valhalla Mixtape: Soundtrack to Sigyn

Music and writing are often closely linked. Lots of writers make playlists for inspiration, to get themselves in the right frame of mind, or, sometimes, to just help them push through that day’s word count as quickly and painlessly as possible.

I don’t have playlists per se, but music still plays a huge role in my writing. A light-hearted story usually calls for some light-hearted music (most recently, They Might Be Giants). If I want to get into the spirit of a fight scene, I stick on some gloriously melodramatic metal (thank you, Alestorm and Nightwish). And one of the ways I get to know my main characters is to find the song that fits them best.

With my current work-in-progress, Sigyn, some characters found their songs more quickly than others. Loki, attention-seeker that he is, got his almost straight away:

(If you have to ask why ‘Breaking the Law’ is Loki’s song, you don’t know him very well)

‘Lockdown’, by the fantastic CN Lester, sums up Sigyn and Loki as a pair. There’s no video, but have a listen here – and, if you know the original story of Loki and Sigyn, I’m sure you’ll understand why this seemed to fit them so well. (Or maybe not. Maybe the significance is all in my head. Mind you, so is the story, so I guess it works).

I have to be a bit more cryptic here because of potential spoilers, but ‘Tame the Wolf’ by Champions of Breakfast (located here) fits with several characters and plot threads. (I know, I know, I’ve already talked about the werewolves, but trust me, there’s going to be a lot more to it than just Fenrir rampaging around).

So, that’s the werewolves, Loki, and the Loki-and-Sigyn friendship covered. Unfortunately, I still haven’t found the perfect song for Sigyn herself, and I’ve got a feeling that she’s getting a bit miffed about this. She’s certainly been more uncooperative than usual. So, mythology buffs, what song might fit Sigyn? Answers on a postcard (or, y’know, in the comments).

 

Alice’s books are available on Amazon and Smashwords. Her webcomics, co-created and illustrated by Emily Brady, can be found at the Footloose website. Ally rambles about writing, feminism, and odd questions that cross her mind on Twitter and Facebook.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

