Work in Progress: Writing Sigyn, Post Four – The Wrong Shape

I haven’t blogged here for a few weeks. First I was on holiday, and then…well, nothing, really. There was no real reason I didn’t write any blogs, except that I couldn’t think of a single thing to write.

Writer’s block sometimes hits in one area and not in others, but this time around, it’s struck pretty much comprehensively. I’m plodding on with Sigyn, but it’s mostly copy-paste, and I’ve not been happy with any of the words I’ve put down for quite some time.

It’s easy to tell when stories aren’t working right; they feel the wrong shape while you’re writing them. I know the shape Sigyn is supposed to be – I even have a vague map of it stuck to my wall:

2015-07-12 19.56.35

(This isn’t the real shape of the story, it’s just a useful visualisation – like the London Underground map)

But the thing I’m writing isn’t coming together like it’s supposed to. It’s still got the dreaded soggy middle, and none of it is holding together right. If it was a scarf, it would be unravelling. If it was a cake, I’d be laughed off the Bake-Off.

I’m hoping this’ll pass, and it’ll pick up soon. If anyone has any advice, thoughts, or a magic cure for writer’s block (I can dream…), please do share in the comments.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

