Procrastiknition

A while ago, I decided that I needed a hobby that would stop me biting my nails. It needed to be something I could do with my hands while I was occupied with watching TV, listening to music, or other things like that. Smoking sounded like it would raise more problems than it would fix, so I went with knitting instead. I thought it might be an even better idea to combine it with doing something helpful, so I got a pattern for premature baby cardigans from the charity Emily’s Star, gathered some wool, and set to work.

Since then, things have got a little out of hand.

knitting

I’ve added two more cardigans since that photo was taken. One thing I’ll say in my defence is that they’re really quick to make – the charity have a pattern that lets you knit the whole thing in one piece, to minimise the number of seams (which might be uncomfortable for the extremely small person to lie on).

Originally, I was going to use this project to get rid of the spare wool I have from previous adventures in knitting. (That’s a real thing. Knitting is totally adventurous). But, as every crafter will know, sometimes new supplies are just far too tempting. That red, green and white wool you see in the photo? It’s also sparkly. And that’s why I bought it. To knit sparkly cardies for Christmas babies, because apparently I am an enormous softy at heart.

Knitting has gone from “something I do during down time that isn’t biting my nails” to “something I do when I’m supposed to be doing something else and my knitting is nearby”. For the moment, I’m choosing to believe this is a good thing. Sometimes, it can really help with writing to do something that’s creative but non-verbal – like drawing, or playing music, or, indeed, knitting.

That’s what I like to think, anyway. But if the sequel to Spider Circus turns out to be knitted…well, you’ll know why.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Procrastiknition

  1. Erica says:

    these are adorable!

Leave a Reply

