Brain Fog Blog

I haven’t been blogging as much lately, because I haven’t been able to think of much to blog about – so, the sensible solution seemed to be to blog about the thing that’s stopping me blogging about the things.

When I was in primary school, there was a text-based adventure game on our medieval class computer. This game involved moving around different rooms, or areas, but if you went too far off the “map” in any direction, you were greeted with the line “You are lost in a swirling fog.”

This is how my brain has felt for several weeks now. It might be my incredibly restless sleeping, or my never-ending consumption of caffeine, or my glitchy mental health, or a combination of the three – but I have a bad case of brain fog, and it’s not going away.

Brain fog is one of the most irritating things to experience, in large part because you can’t gather enough focus to even be properly irritated with it. Concentrating on a task feels like trying to do calligraphy using a large handful of candyfloss. Time starts to expand and contract all around you, as even thinking proper thoughts becomes a struggle.

I know the fog will lift eventually, but for now, I’ve got to hunker down and wait for it to pass.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

