My Favourite Places: Thirsty Meeples

Living in Oxford is a pain in some respects (incredibly high rents for not-exactly-stellar-and-let’s-be-honest-literally-mouldy rooms being one of the major bugbears I have with this city), but there are still many things I love about the place. One of these is the café that got me back into board games, Thirsty Meeples.

thirsty-meeples

The picture is misleading – it is NEVER this empty.

Thirsty Meeples is the UK’s first board game café, and I fell in love with the place on my very first trip. Games, cake, sweets, sandwiches, a whole range of teas and coffees, and beer, wine or cocktails if you feel like it? What’s not to love? (All right, so most of that sentence was about food and drink – just imagine I said ‘games’ a load more times).

I’ve been to Thirsty Meeples with friends, on dates, and with my boyfriend, and every time, I’ve had the chance to learn a new game – and I’ve very rarely found one I didn’t like, thanks to the staff and their spot-on recommendations.

51xbcxj23kl

This was the only truly dreadful one I’ve seen.

And, since I mentioned the food – I can confirm that there are few better ways to spend an afternoon than playing a creepy haunted house game (Betrayal at the House on the Hill, highly recommended) with your friends while eating a sausage roll and drinking a peanut butter mocha.

If you’re ever in Oxford…then you probably won’t be able to swing by Meeples, because it’s nearly always fully booked, it’s that popular. But if you’re planning a day out, remember to call ahead and get a table – you won’t be disappointed.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

