Resist

This blog may be short, and not particularly coherent, because, like many people, I’m feeling overwhelmed at the endless, endless, endless shit we’re seeing every day. (Oh hey, here’s something else I saw literally two minutes after I posted this blog!) But that’s kind of the point. The blows keep coming, and if we keep reeling at them, we stay on the back foot instead of blocking and striking back.

I can’t believe how quickly it’s happened, but, the way things look at the moment, we’ve hurtled past proto-fascism and are heading towards the Maggot Moon with no chance of slowing down – unless the people who’ve been acting keep acting, and the people who haven’t join them in any way we can.

For those of us with multiple privileges who know that we won’t be quite so badly hurt by all this, at least not at first, it’s tempting to step back, close our eyes, get on with life almost as we know it and pretend that it’ll be all right in the end. But we can’t. We need to resist, support the people who are already in the firing lines, otherwise that end will come a lot quicker than we think.

Here are a couple of things I’ve found recently that are helping me work out how to begin to play my part – to plant my feet and get my stance right, to extend a metaphor. The first is actionnow, an invaluable mailing list that gives daily advice on ways to resist, big and small. Run by @mikkipedia, it gave me one piece of advice in particular that I’ll be sticking to, which is, find three things to do: one you can lead on, one you can follow on, and one you can make a habit of. For the first, I’m writing; for the second, I’m volunteering; and for the third, I’m donating and signal-boosting whenever I can.

The second is this article, which brilliantly outlines ways to resist without burning out (and we really need to not burn out, because this fight isn’t a skirmish, it’s going to be a long struggle).

The world at the moment is terrifying, and the idea of challenging it seems even more so – but we have to, because no-one else will. For all the treating-life-like-stories I do on this blog, I know, with sadness in my heart, that no hero is coming to save us – we have to save ourselves. Blackamazon (who you should all be following, by the way) put it best.

Stay strong, everyone, and have each others’ backs. We can do this.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

