Two Kinds of Sprint

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. No real reason why – just work, life and writing taking up more time than I’d expected, as they do. Plus, I took up a new hobby, one I never ever thought I’d even try – running.

hated running in school. Hated it more than I could possibly describe. The best thing about slicing the end off my finger while I was in Guides (it grew back) was that my injury meant I got out of cross-country running for the rest of the term, in case my elevated heart rate caused me to bleed through my full-finger bandage. After leaving school, my exercises of choice were swimming, fitness classes, dancing and walking – I even avoided running for buses if I could possibly help it.

But not so long ago, I got to a point in Sigyn where I realised the story I was writing was trying to tell me something. In the same way as my early fantasy stories told me that I secretly wanted to learn swordfighting, and Spider Circus told me that I really wanted to learn to climb (something that’s still on my list), Sigyn told me that, like my heroine, I really, really wanted to run.

I started Couch to 5K about ten weeks ago, feeling pretty sceptical about the whole thing. There was no way I could ever run for 30 minutes – me, who had been such a terrible runner in school that a PE teacher had explained to the rest of the class just how bad my times were. I’d probably just end up being able to run for slightly longer than never and build a tiny bit of stamina, right?

This shaky, sweaty picture is of me last week, when I finished my final 30min run in the Couch to 5K podcast series. I haven’t made it to five kilometers yet, but I can run for half an hour and not feel like I’m about to die afterwards, something I never ever thought I’d be able to do. Since then, I’ve been trying to boost up my distances and times – and on 9th July, I’m going to be running in the Oxford Race for Life (do sponsor me if you can!)

And, as if to match the real-world running, I’ve rediscovered writing sprints (thank you, MyWriteClub, you brilliant website). I’ve written more in the past couple of days doing writing sprints than I managed to write in entire weeks beforehand. With my heroine running on the page, and me running out here in real life, I feel like I’m finally making some progress.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Kinds of Sprint

  1. I love couch to 5k stories–mostly I just love watching people amaze themselves! Love that you felt toy needed to run right along with your heroine. That’s kind of wonderful.

Leave a Reply

