Thought Bubble 2017

Last weekend, Team Footloose went to one of our favourite comic cons, Thought Bubble. We’ve been there a few times before, but this year was different – for one thing, the entire con had moved. Instead of being at the Royal Armouries (which is a brilliant museum, that’s well worth a visit even when it’s not full of comic fans). This year, it was in the centre of town, over a much larger area – like comics were taking over the city itself.

 

These pictures make it look like it wasn’t busy at all. Trust me, it was.

Thought Bubble is indie comics heaven, and it’s clearly going from strength to strength. It always has the best guests, and this year, one of the people invited was someone I’ve been wanting to meet for ages – Spike Trotman of Iron Circus, who’s also one of the co-hosts of the fantastic comics podcast Dirty Old Ladies. (Note to everyone who’s as silly as me – don’t google that without adding ‘podcast’ afterwards).

Spike is one of my comics heroes – she’s an amazing storyteller, artist and publisher, and she also does brilliant Twitter threads (I’ve learned so many historical facts, and lived vicariously through some playthroughs of Real Lives and Dream Dads). I got to chat to her – while nerding out completely – and she was even more awesome in real life.

As well as meeting Spike, we got to catch up with loads of the indie-comic-scene friends we’ve made over the years, and got some comicky and arty loot to take home. I’d spent most of my money on an issue of Smut Peddler, but I also got myself some stickers for my laptop, and a fantastic political zine by a fifteen-year-old author from Team Ketchup.

I absolutely love this comic. It’s yet more evidence for my ever-growing file of “kids have got it sorted and they should probably be in charge instead of us”.

The comics weren’t the only fantastic part of the convention, thought. There was also this little guy:

Yes, one of the attendees brought her skunk along. His name was Pongo, he was five months old, and he was very interested in sniffing things. He was an extremely good skunk.

Thought Bubble was exhausting, as cons always are, but we had an amazing weekend. If you’re in Leeds next autumn, go along. I can’t promise a skunk, but I know you’ll have a great time.

I saw this on the way home, so this is how I’m signing off on everything from now on.

About Alice Nuttall

Alice Nuttall is a caffeine-guzzling knitter who divides her time between Oxford and the various worlds in her head. She is the author of a YA fantasy novel, Spider Circus, and three webcomics, Footloose, Cherry, and Black Market Magic, as well as several short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

